This is kind of a late post. I drafted it on Monday for my daily pages but did not get around to editing it until today, wherein I am able to enjoy, once again, a local holiday and, hence, rest from work.

Saturday started with a longer silence/thinking time in the morning. The cool morning air was comforting as always. I enjoyed listening to the chirping of the birds and smelling the neighbor’s laundry, particularly the fabric conditioner, cooking, and flowers. I took all these in as I drank my coffee, which I made to last until the dark skies turned to light and I felt I had my morning fill.

By late afternoon, I got a chance to catch up with a friend. It was a surprise to know that she got depressed for a while. She was able to share about it now because it was her first time to experience it and was not actually sure how and why it happened. But she was sure that, at one point, she lost her joy. It was good that she had her pastor to point it out to her, too, and who reached out to her to talk to her about it. She is mostly a jolly person that was why it was easier to see that something was amiss. I am glad that it was just a short phase for her and she was able to bounce back from it. She said she is much better now and is enjoying the work-from-home set up and having more quality time with her family.

On Sunday morning, I had the chance to go outside again for a bit. It was raining but I decided to walk because I would pass through a street known for restaurants and so a good place to hang out. Most of the restaurants were closed as it was still early. They could only serve for take-out and delivery anyway as we are under another lockdown. Still, it was nice to see the different restaurants and store front designs and to remember how busy and lively the street used to be.

The nearest ATM in the area was not working so I had to walk farther to find another one. The skies were gray but I had fun seeing the little pink flowers in large potted plants. They were more vibrant from getting wet from the rain. I thought about taking photos but decided against it as it was a bit of a commercial area and it was raining. I thought I would look weird. But the flowers were such a beauty.

I bought pancakes to take home and eat for breakfast with my siblings from a fast food I passed through. It was quiet at the fast food, unlike the last time I was there and they allowed dine in. One thing I miss doing these days is eating breakfast in quiet outside.

Later in the afternoon I read the news. And the grays and blues came in, knowing about the rising numbers of Covid cases, presumably from the Delta variant, and the looming thought of lockdown extension. The business sector was raising concern on the status of the economy. The reality of the pandemic and the VUCAness of the world right now can easily take the meaning of life out from you. It took two feel-good movies to wash away the anxious thoughts and get back on track. There are still responsibilities to fulfill.

It was kind of a journey of the mind and emotions over the weekend. Things happening around maybe overwhelming, but it is important to remember to work on those that are within our control. 

I hope the coming weekend be the kind that we need. 😊